top of page

Samadhi and Levels of Samadhi

Exploring the Depths of Consciousness: Understanding the Different Types of Samadhi

In the realm of yoga and meditation, samadhi represents the ultimate state of blissful union with the divine. It is a state of profound absorption where the practitioner merges with the object of meditation, transcending the boundaries of the individual self. However, samadhi is not a singular experience but encompasses various levels and types. In this blog, we delve into the different types of samadhi, shedding light on their unique characteristics and significance in the path of spiritual realization.

1. Savikalpa Samadhi

Savikalpa Samadhi, also known as the "samadhi with seed," is the initial stage of meditative absorption. In this state, the practitioner experiences a focused and one-pointed concentration on a specific object or concept. The mind remains engaged with the object of meditation, although a deep sense of unity and stillness begins to emerge. While still maintaining a subtle distinction between the observer and the observed, the practitioner experiences moments of profound peace and clarity.

2. Nirvikalpa Samadhi

Nirvikalpa Samadhi, often referred to as the "samadhi without seed," represents the pinnacle of meditative absorption. In this state, the individual self dissolves completely, and there is no separation between the meditator and the object of meditation. The mind transcends all concepts, thoughts, and dualities, merging into pure consciousness. This state is characterized by an indescribable sense of oneness, ecstasy, and transcendence, leading to the direct realization of the true nature of the self.

3. Sahaja Samadhi

Sahaja Samadhi, meaning "natural samadhi," is considered the highest form of samadhi attainable in a state of awakened consciousness. Unlike the temporary states of savikalpa and nirvikalpa samadhi, sahaja samadhi is an ongoing, continuous state of realization. It is the integration of the awakened state of consciousness with the activities of daily life. In sahaja samadhi, the meditator abides in a state of spontaneous and effortless awareness, where the distinction between meditation and daily existence dissolves. This state is marked by a sense of wholeness, unconditional love, and the embodiment of spiritual wisdom.

4. Nirodha Samadhi :

Nirodha Samadhi, also known as "samadhi as cessation," refers to a state of complete cessation of mental activity. In this state, the mind transcends all thoughts, desires, and sensory perceptions, leading to a state of profound stillness and tranquility. The practitioner experiences a complete suspension of the normal functioning of the mind, entering a state of deep rest and rejuvenation. Nirodha samadhi is often considered a precursor to higher states of realization, providing a profound glimpse into the state of pure consciousness.

The journey of samadhi encompasses a range of experiences and states, each offering unique insights and revelations on the path of spiritual awakening. From the focused concentration of savikalpa samadhi to the profound dissolution of the self in nirvikalpa samadhi, and the integrated awareness of sahaja samadhi to the stillness of nirodha samadhi, these various types of samadhi illuminate the vast potential of human consciousness. By understanding and exploring these states, practitioners can deepen their spiritual practice and move closer to the ultimate realization of their true nature.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page